Status Update

EDIT: Just got Joker and Big Gangan, meaning both Akames are in. Akame main will be out whenever redraws are finished, and Zero whenever I feel like working on it. Zero fans: hope you like Togashi art.

Haven’t done much of anything since that huge release, so here’s a list of what’s going on with each series.

Bad news first; this was pretty obvious already, but Bungo Stray Dogs and Shirasunamura are both dropped. Their respective translators disappeared months ago, and while I would love to keep doing either or both of them, the amount of text in each one has made it impossible for me to find anyone who’ll translate them.
Tonari no Seki-kun and Donyatsu are stalled, for mostly the same reasons. The difference is that I’m still looking for translators for Seki and Donyatsu, and might even try a chapter or two myself if I have time, but the only way I’ll pick up Bungo or Shirasunamura again is if someone comes to me and offers to do them. They’d have to be pretty good too, since proofreading either one of those series is not something I look forward to doing. That said, I will absolutely pick them up again if I get the chance, so I guess you can just think of it as indefinite hiatus instead of being dropped.
Hataraku Maou-sama! has been dropped as well, since motivation to keep going basically went down the drain after finishing Volume 3 and Ferdinbeer is busy translating other things anyway. I’ll leave what we managed to do so far up until Yen Press releases the first volume in April, at which point I’ll take it down. No, I’m not planning on making an ePub/PDF or whatever. If you want one, feel free to make it, but I just don’t feel like it.

Anyway, on to the actual series.

Akame ga KILL! – I don’t have the raws I need to work on the new chapter yet. Asking me is not going to make them get scanned faster; the series is a priority for me, but it’s not a priority for the scanner. I’ve got it translated and pre-typeset from the spoiler raws so that should save a good deal of time once the HQ raws come in, but redraws are definitely going to take a while, so don’t expect it for at least another day or two, and that’s the best-case scenario where it gets scanned tomorrow.

Akame ga KILL! Zero – Haven’t got raws for this yet either, although it just came out today in Japan so that isn’t really late. It has the cover and lead color this issue, meaning redraws will take a while here too.

Angel Game – I originally hoped to get Chapters 4 and 5 out last week with the rest of the releases, but I just didn’t have time. They’ll definitely be released together, just not sure when. My motivation to translate it will go down slightly after Chapter 5 since that’s when the main plot arc starts and therefore text, but the series is only 12 chapters so it shouldn’t be that bad.

Gamma – I hope to get this out more regularly, one volume is done and there’s four to go. I’m holding off on chapter 5 until I get my copy of the final volume because I want to see if it says what the English name for a certain character is, but if it doesn’t, I’ll just give it my best guess and forge ahead. Chapters 5 and 6 form a two-part arc, haven’t decided if I want to release them together or not.

Haru no Houtai Shoujo – Still on hiatus in Japan, nothing to say.

Hitoribocchi no Chikyuu Shinryaku – Bomber D Rufi is going steady at his pace of two chapters a month, so he should translate 24 some time next week. That’s the end of Volume 5, and it’s a big one plot-wise, so I’ll prioritize getting it out. I have scans of Volume 6, and 7 should be released shortly before we finish translating that one, so I’ll hopefully get 7 done from volume raws and then switch over to magazine. I’ve got all the magazine raws from here on out, so even if I can’t get Volume 7 instantly for whatever reason, he’ll still be able to translate it.

Shinigami-sama to 4-nin no Kanojo – Just like it announced last month, this month’s issue of Joker ran the final chapter of the series – part one of it, that is. Part two of the final chapter should come out next month, ending the series for real. Since this is in the same magazine as Akame, I don’t have HQ raws yet, but I did manage to get LQ raws that it’s being translated from.

Zetsurin! – The release speed for this is basically “whenever I feel like translating it and there happens to be no one else in the room.” I’m reading ahead to make it easier for when I have to translate it; the series has four volumes total, and I’m near the end of Volume 2. There is one thing I might need to v2 in Chapters 2 and 3 now that I’ve read further, but I really don’t think I care enough to. I thought “Nephillim” was the demon girl’s title; it means half-angel, so I assumed that “Demon Nephillim” meant half-demon. Turns out it’s actually her name, but that should be obvious enough from the next few chapters that it probably doesn’t need to be changed.

As for new series… I am not planning on picking up anything I released during the anniversary thing that I wasn’t already working on. I just wanted to do one chapter each of a few series, so that’s what I did. There is a very small chance I might pick one up once I finish some other series, and the most likely ones are either The Little Match Girl or Guren Five. Caterpillar is a big “maybe,” and that’s only if I can get someone else to translate it. Sengoku Strays is definitely not going to happen.

What I am picking up is a one-volume series that I’ve been trying to get a copy of for quite some time now, and while I still can’t get a physical copy, I should hopefully be getting scans soon. I won’t say what it is because something always goes wrong and I don’t really want to feel responsible for getting anyone’s hopes up, so I’ll just say that it’s one volume, from 2007, and is the sequel to a nine-volume series that was published in America. If that’s enough for you to know what series it is, then there’s a good chance you’ve been waiting for it for a long time.

11 thoughts on “Status Update

  1. I just appreciate all the work you did for the love of art, and I hope that better days come to the staff in general, to continue their noble mission

  2. Kind of unrelated, but is it safe yet to divulge the name of the group who will be doing Shield Hero? I’d imagine you don’t want to have people harangue them if they maybe aren’t all in for it or haven’t had a chance to begin, so it’s cool if you can’t give info yet.

  3. Thanks for letting us know how it’s going, I’ve been looking forward to the Akame chapter, but wasn’t sure if it was a translation, RAWs or just a case of whether or not you had time to spare. It’s nice to have a more solid idea of what’s going on, so thank you.

  4. Jag,
    i still hope we got shini gami sama this month,,wait patienly,,he he,,
    n about this series”tate-no-yuusha-no-nariagari” i see in manga update do u release it,,pls contine pls.
    i have read the novel untul 170 n this story & drawing is good..

Leave a Reply

